Infrared Filter!

Hooray!  I just purchased an infrared filter! 😀

Boo!  I received it on a day where it’s nasty and rainy outside, so I can’t really use it.  😦
Tried to use it inside, which I didn’t figure would work, and I was right.  It caught some red and black, but that’s about it…I suppose because fluorescent and other household light bulbs don’t exactly give off a lot of IR, lol.  They’re really not bright enough, either.

 

It’s crazy how dark this filter is though….I’ve never used an IR filter before, and I knew it was going to be dark,  and that I’d have to use a long shutter speed, but I had no idea that it would be THIS dark.  You literally have to put your eye right up to it, look through it, and be looking directly at a light source to even be able to see anything…and then, they’re tiny little red points of light.  Pretty nifty, imo.

 

Can’t wait to test it out on a sunny day! 😀
Have any of you guys ever used an IR filter before?  If so, what were some of your experiences with it, and are there any tips or tricks that you can give me on how to utilize it better?

Oh, and if you’re wondering, I got the filter new off of eBay for about $12. 😉

 

 

<3Renae

~ by jeezycreezy on April 12, 2011.

Here's what I think...

 
