My Camera Collection (So Far)

More backlogged photos! haha

 

I decided one day that I was going to take some photos of my collection of cameras, and add stories of how I got each one of them. The only ones that are missing are my Yashica FX-1, because it’s somewhere in storage and I don’t feel like digging through a bunch of stuff for it (I promise I’ll post a photo of it later) and the camera that I took the photos with–my Canon EOS 40D.

 

 

 

 

This is my Spartus Full-Vue. It was manufactured from 1948 to 1960, and I've had it the longest. I got it about 10 years ago from a flea market in Tampa for less than $20 (which is about the minimum you'll find them on eBay for now). This is also the camera that I used to make this photo: http://renduh.deviantart.com/art/The-Canoe-124226250

 

This is my Kodak Brownie Reflex. The Brownie Reflex was manufactured from 1940 to 1942, and was the third antique camera I added to my collection (the second was my Yashica which, as I previously mentioned, I don't currently have a picture of). My dad works for my cousin's construction company (they build and repair houses), and he found this camera at one of the houses (the people who owned the house were going to throw it away). He brought it home, gave it to me, and so I acquired another camera for my collection at no cost to me (they usually go for around $15-30 on eBay). 🙂

 

This is my Canon AF35M. They were manufactured from 1979 to 1983. As previously mentioned, my father works for my cousin's construction company building and repairing houses, and I acquired my AF35M when he found it in a house he was working on (different house from where he found the Brownie, but same situation--the people were going to throw it out), and he brought it home to me. Another camera for my collection without having to spend a penny on it (they go for anywhere from $10 to $50 on eBay).

As a sidenote to the above image, this one and the Yashica FX-1 that I mentioned before are the only two “antique” cameras that I’ve ever actually taken photos with. The Spartus Full Vue takes 120 film and the Kodak Brownie takes 127 film (and I mean the BIG kind of film–not 120mm and 127mm, haha), and I don’t have the money to spend on darkroom supplies to develop them (nor do I have the skills to know how to, but again, that’s because I don’t have the money to even learn), so I’ve never used them before.

 

 

 

Yes, despite the fact that I shoot with Canon, I do have a Nikon in my collection. /eyeroll Actually, this was the camera that convinced me to choose Canon over Nikon--I just wasn't happy with the performance of this camera, and the photos always turn out pretty grainy. :/ I still use it though--it's not TOO terrible, but I do like Canon better. This camera is great for use in places where I can't (or don't want to) take my Canon (for fear of it getting damaged). Anyhow though. This is a Nikon Coolpix S51. It came out in 2007, and has since been discontinued (I wasn't able to find what year it was discontinued though--if someone knows, please tell me, and I'll update this! ). I got my S51 as a graduation present in 2007 from my mom, and I believe she paid around $500 for it (ouch!...but thanks mom!!).

 

Yes, this is a cell phone. However, it is a smart phone with a 3.2 MP camera built in, and because of this, I do take a lot of photos with it (especially when I don't have any other camera with me--it's a life saver!!). This is the LG Optimus S. It was released by Sprint on October 31, 2010. I got it in March 2011 for free (after mail-in rebate, lol) when I switched to Sprint from Verizon (lesson learned: Verizon may have the best signal for their phones, but their customer service is absolutely TERRIBLE! I would choose Sprint over Verizon any day--they even paid me $125 to switch, haha).

 

 

 

 

 

Let me know what you think! 🙂

 

Renae

~ by jeezycreezy on June 15, 2011.

2 Responses to “My Camera Collection (So Far)”

  1. Grate collection..

Here's what I think...

 
