Freelensing!!

(Post 2 of 3 for today)

Yes!  That’s right!!  FREE LENSING!!!

I had told you I was trying this out before, and this post is going to show you the results!!
If you’re not sure what “freelensing” is,  here is an excellent description from Photojojo  —

 

“Freelensers simply hold unattached lenses in front their camera’s exposed sensor, and delicately tilt it until focus emerges. Hand-manipulating a lens will reinvent your focal plane, producing amazing macro and tilt-shift effects that were previously only possible with special glass.”

 

You can see their tutorial (which I didn’t use–I only just found the website to give you a definition of “freelensing” ;))  here .

 

I haven’t tried tilt-shift photos yet–only macro.  That being said, here are my first freelensing photos!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hooray for "severed head"! 😀 I honestly didn't even try to get those words to stand out--it's just how it happened.

 

 

I love the dreamy look that the light leak gave this photo. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

By FAR my favorite of all 3--this was an orchid in front of the elementary school down the street from me.

 

 

 

 

And just for good measure, here are some photos taken with my lens ATTACHED–this is the closest my 50mm can normally get without freelensing with it.

Tell me what you think!!

<3Renae

~ by jeezycreezy on June 21, 2011.

7 Responses to “Freelensing!!”

  1. WOW! these are great! I need to try it out 🙂

  2. Nice. I will definitely try this tomorrow!

    • Awesome–just make sure you’re careful about dust and moisture! (and maybe leave a link with your results? I’d be interested to see them! :))

  3. […] read Renae’s article on freelensing, I decided to give it a go. I haven’t had much time recently, so I […]

  4. I didn’t have much time, but I tried! Can’t wait to give it a better go. http://ayearinmyshoes.wordpress.com/2011/06/28/freelensing-attempt-1/

Here's what I think...

 
