A Quote, and Some Thoughts…

Hey guys!

So, at the moment, I don’t have much to update about.  With the holidays here, I’ve been super busy with work, family, and friends (holiday parties and such), so I haven’t had much to say in my blog, and I apologize for that.

I did, however, find an intriguing quote that I wanted to write a little blurb about.

 

“Photographers mistake the emotion they feel while taking the photo as a judgment that the photograph is good” – Garry Winogrand

 

I absolutely love this quote.
I find it to be extremely truthful, and I’ve noticed this about myself every once in awhile.  Lots of times after I edit a batch of photos, I think they look amazing…but I don’t always want to post them right away (especially the ones I spent the most time on).  This is because I’ve realized over time that if I finish editing a photo, then step away from it for a few hours (if not a few days), when I come back to it, it appears differently to me.   Sometimes I’ll realize that I need to tweak something a bit, and sometimes (albeit rarely) I realize that I don’t actually like the photo at all.

 

This was just something I had figured out on my own, but I never really put much thought into it until I read this quote. I think after reading it, I’m going to think a bit more about whether a photo I’ve taken and loved is one that I love because it is actually a great photo, or because it has great emotion and memories associated with it.

I figured it might help a few of you as well, and so I decided to share it.

 

 

 

What’s your favorite photography quote?

 

<3Renae


~ by jeezycreezy on December 17, 2011.

Here's what I think...

 
